Great post on how to shoot hummingbirds. I will definitely use these techniques when shooting these little flying critters.

the eff stop

Last week I posted some experiments from a photo challenge where the aim was to shoot your DSLR like it was a film challenge, limiting options and processing simply – no image stabilization, set a single ISO setting – bare bones. I learned some things by minimizing the technology and decided to apply some things to my regular shooting process while utilizing all the features of my DSLR.

Here are some things I was forced to try when I limited my camera’s functionality that can I apply to my everyday shooting:

1. Get close. Hummers at a feeder could care less about you. They may chirp a bit, but if you position yourself close to the feeders before they approach, they will come anyway – food is more important than you. I was actually standing on a step stool a few feet from a couple of the feeders for these shots.

View original post 318 more words

One thought on “

  1. corinneewan says:

    This is fantastic! I see so many beautiful shots of humming birds and wonder how people are fast enough to get them. When I finally get my hands on a camera (other than my iPhone) I will definitely be giving this a try. Truly wonderful photos!

Leave a Reply

