{Art Journal} Sloth

Challenge Week 2: Animal

I love sloths. They are fascinating animals. I think that baby sloths are one of the most adorable baby animals in the world. For my art challenge: week 2, I chose to draw something that makes me happy when I look at it: Sloths. My husband thinks I get  bit crazy when I see picture or video of a baby sloth. I have to admit he is right, but after seeing a video of Kristen Bell at Ellen’s Show I feel I’m not alone in my craziness.  For sure one day I will visit a sloth sanctuary in Costa Rica to meet these little cuties (#34 on my bucket list).

Here is my drawing: just remember I’m new to this!

Ania Archer, Sloth

Ania Archer, Sloth

Did you know that:

  1. Sloths live in the tropical forests of Central and South America.
  2. These drowsy tree-dwellers sleep up to 20 hours a day! And even when they are awake, they barely move at all. In fact, they’re so incredibly sluggish, algae actually grows on their fur.
  3. They are actually related to armadillos and anteaters.
  4. They also have two extra neck vertebrae that allow them to turn their heads almost all the way around!
  5. While some subspecies are classified as endangered, not much is known about population numbers of the world’s sloths.
  6. There are two main species of sloth, identified by whether they have two or three claws on their front feet.

Here are few other links I want to share with you:

Baby Sloth,

Photo credits: Whyamithewerewolf.

Sloth Sanctuary in Costa Rica:

and here is Kristen Bell at Elen’s Show:

Hope you enjoyed today’s post. How do you feel about sloths?

2 thoughts on “{Art Journal} Sloth

  1. Sloths are awesome! I love Kristen Bell and her sloth meltdown is so funny! The first time I saw it I was teary-eyed from laughing so hard! Your drawings are great! I’ve always wanted to spend more time working on drawing or painting, so thanks for the inspiring reminder! Keep up the good work! 🙂

    • Ania A. says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I agree Kristen Bell meltdown – fuunny!!! But I totally see myself doing the same thing in that situation. I’m happy I inspired you! – since I started my art journal challenge I feel so much more fulfilled each day. I hope to see your work someday.

Leave a Reply

